Soorarai Pottru & Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior’s Big Win at 68th National Film Awards

 152 (Views)

Soorarai Pottru & Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior’s Big Win at 68th National Film Awards

The award of the annual event of the 68th National Film Awards was announced in New Delhi. Suriya’s Soorarai Pottru & Ajay Devgn’s Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior won the best feature film and best popular film providing wholesome entertainment respectively. 

Popular Tamil actor Suriya, who won the best actor for ‘Soorarai Pottru’, shared his award with Devgn.   Soorarai Pottru bagged awards in five categories, namely the best feature film, best actor, best actress, best background score and the best screenplay. 

On the other hand Tanhaji also won the best costume designer for Nachiket Barve and Mahesh Sherla. Devgn is receiving the honour for the third time. He has previously won the National Film Award for best actor for his performances in ‘Zakhm’ (1998) and ‘The Legend of Bhagat Singh’ (2002). 

Other than this, the award for the most film friendly state was give to Madhya Pradesh, while Uttarakhand and UP won special mentions in the same category.  Award for the best director was presented to the Malayalam filmmaker Sachidanandan KR was for ‘Ayyappanum Koshiyum’, which won best supporting actor for Biju Menon, best action direction (stunt choreography) and best playback female singer for Nanchamma.  The best playback singer award male was given to Rahul Deshpande for Marathi film ‘Mi Vasantrao’. ‘Toolsidas Junior’ won the best Hindi film award, and child actor Varun Buddhadev also acknowledged a special jury mention.  

In the music award category, Thaman S won the best music direction for Allu Arjun’s Telugu hit ‘Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo’. Best lyrics was given to Manoj Muntashir for Hindi film ‘Saina’. Telugu movie ‘Natyam’ won awards for best make-up artist (TV Rambabu) and best choreography (Sandhya Raju). Tamil artist Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli was given the best supporting actress award for Tamil movie ‘Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum’, which also received the best editing award for Sreekar Prasad.  Filmmaker Madonne Ashwin won the Indira Gandhi award for best debut director & the best dialogue writer for his Tamil project ‘Mandela’. Best cinematography award went to Supratim Bhol for the Bengali movie ‘Avijatrik’.


Stay tuned to Regional Karaoke for more News updates !!

Leave a Comment